Types of Pranayama

There are innumerate pranayama practices that have been taught in the yogic traditions. They can be generally classified into four types

  1. Balancing Pranayama
  2. Energizing Pranayama
  3. Sensitizing Pranayama
  4. Tranquilizing Pranayama

Preparation for pranayama is very crucial and essential. In this course sufficient preparatory practices are introduced, which are called as Prana Nigraha. Few practices from other types of pranayama are also introduced. Emphasis is placed on Balancing Pranayama

Psychic Network Purification

The word nadi means ‘channel’ or ‘flow’ of energy and shodana means ‘purification’. Nadi Shodana Pranayama means practice that purifies the nadis.

Nadi Shodana Pranayama ensures that the whole body is nourished by an extra supply of oxygen. Carbon dioxide is efficiently expelled and blood is purified of toxins.

The brain centers are stimulated to work nearer to their optimum capacity.

It includes tranquility, clarity of thought, concentration and is recommended for those engaged in mental work.

It increases vitality and lowers levels of stress and anxiety by harmonizing the pranas.

Development of nadi shodana should be done over a long period of time under the guidance of an experienced yoga teacher. The preliminary stages of NSP are introduced in this course.

For a detailed reading about pranayama you can refer to Bihar school of Yoga books 1.Asana Pranayama Mudra Bandha 2. Prana, Pranayama 3. Yoga & Kriya

Other practices that will help to intensify the ability of absorption of prana and expanding the dimension of prana, will be introduced in this course.

To go back to previous page Click_Here_Icon